My little angel…

After the worst attempt at a holiday in recent history, Daisy and I ended up back at home on Saturday morning.

I was really quite upset because I’d saved and hoped that this break would be lovely for Daisy, and would allow her to forget about her perceived responsibilities of looking after me for just a few days. For those of you who know Daisy, you will know that she’s a pretty special little girl. Of course, everyone thinks that about their own children, I know this. But Daisy is especially precious, because of everything she deals with, and the manner in which she deals with it.

Last week was her 7th birthday. She desperately wanted a roller skating party. She is the most physical, active little lady you’ll ever meet and so I explained to her that whilst I was happy to organise and pay for the roller skating party, Mummy wasn’t really well enough to do it with her. “It’s ok, Mummy – as long as you’re there, I’ll be happy” was her answer…

On Friday morning, I woke up and could hardly move – the last few weeks had really caught up with me – so unlike most 7 year olds, she packed up her things, my things and anything else she could think of!! On the way down, she told me that “as long as we’re together Mummy, it’ll be ok”, when we discussed whether it would be nice there.

The average age of a young carer is 12. Daisy has been looking after me from the very beginning. There are more than 175,000 young carers in the UK, some as young as 5 years old. Everyone talks about what a sad life that must be, but as a parent, I still do anything I possibly can to let my little madam live the normal life of a 7 year old – often to the detriment of my health. Yesterday, we went to her beloved Chester Zoo – today, I’m pretty much sofa bound, watching her make her own fun. She’s happy though – I yet again feel like I’ve failed her, but she just understands – she never complains or feels like the world owes her something. Not many 7 year olds you can say that about!

That is such a tiny snapshot of why Daisy-Mae is so special – until you meet her, meet us together, you’ll have no idea of the bond we have, of just how special this little lady is.

Please don’t feel pity or sorrow for us though – we have the most amazing relationship and I feel very lucky every day for what we do have, whilst knowing our limitations. It’s really only ever been the two of us – probably always will be…

Love you monkey, more than you’ll ever know…

C xxx

About goodbyerockyroad

Mummy, daughter, teacher, Hyperemesis survivor, CFS/Fibromyalgia sufferer, fighter, lover, blogger... Sometimes funny, mostly not.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, young carer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

